Editor’s Pick | Tom Ford Jasmin Rouge

Capture (1)

Voluptuous. Sensuous. Audacious. Tom Ford Jasmine Rouge is a saturated, spiced floral. An unexpected blend of precious sambac jasmine sepals absolute, an ingredient never used before in perfumery with dusky clary sage and rich spices, it unveils a new facet of jasmine’s erotic decadence. Jasmin Rouge is as audacious as lacquered red lips. Its deep red bottle evokes the lush and hedonistic glamour.

At first, I too experienced the soliflore jasmine, but after allowing it to develop on my skin, I was definitely rewarded.

The opening notes for me are not the spice, but rather a fruity (in particular grape) jasmine, with a flourish of bergamot. The citrus is gone very quickly.

The dry down is where this gets interesting. I get the spices (cardamom and pepper in particular), as well as deep sandalwood and vanilla undertones. The grapey jasmine remains throughout and turns quite dark, rich and boozy.

In terms of sillage, I would say this is a more bold fragrance, but not inappropriate for an office setting, keeping in mind that I would never exceed 1.5-2 sprays in any case.

In terms of longevity, I have noticed that the spray in my decolate lasts all day, whereas the scent on my wrists will go through the dry down phase much more quickly. This results in an interesting phenomenon where I get more of the spice and sandalwood on my wrists and more of the boozy, grapey jasmine from my chest.

It’s a bit floral, a bit powdery, and a bit musky , coming together very nicely. I think this will definitely get you a date if you’re looking!

704

Leave a Reply

