In the Haute Seat with LoveFashionKM’s Khatoon Moosa

It’s always refreshing discovering talented, young, female ladies who are both Business Woman as well as gifted Designers.

At Haute Arabia, we have had the pleasure of onboarding one of our newest additions to our Haute Family, the dynamic Khatoon Moosa, Founder and Designer behind LoveFashionKM Abayas.

As some background, Khatoon is a twenty-something fashion designer, stylist and consultant born in Pretoria, South Africa. She is a former student of the reputable Surval-Mont-Fleuri, Switzerland and graduated from the Design School Southern Africa (DSSA) with a BA in Fashion Design and Marketing. She is a vibrant, bubbly and down-to-earth spirit, whose ambition has afforded her the platform of being one of South Africa’s most up-and-coming Fashion Designers within the Modest fashion industry.

We had the privilege of interviewing Khatoon recently, and wanted to share this with you all as an opportunity to get to know her and the LoveFashionKM brand a little better. We hope you enjoy getting to know Khatoon as much as we did!

What is your earliest fashion related memory? 

As a 6 six year old, I was mesmerized as I walked down Bond Street in London.

Describe your personal style in three words?

That’s a difficult one! Unique, fun, fashionista.

Three things that an abaya says about a woman? 

Elegant, modest and feminine.

How do you gather inspiration for your designs?

I find myself drawn towards expressing inner beauty as well as a women’s inclination towards beauty through Islamic dress. I Research the latest trends as fashion never sleeps. My days rotate between gathering ideas, sourcing fabrics, embellishments and sketching.

Your style icons?

Blake Lively, she’s always so chick and sleek. And Kendall Jenner for her youthful vibe.

If you could choose one celebrity to be the face of LovefashionKM, someone that embodies the brand, who would it be? 

Fashion and style Icon of the Middle East, Alanoud Badr, Founder and Designer of Lady Fozaza.

If you had a million pounds, what non-fashion related business would you start-up, and why?

A finishing School for girls, as my fondest memory is of the time I spent studying at Surval Mont-Fleuri  in Switzerland.

Your current wardrobe MVP?

My LV Petite-Malle Trunk Bag.

Which accessories have been your favourite this season?

The Fendi Micro Peekaboo.

High street or designer brands?

I would have to say a mix of both.

If you had to wear one type of shoe brand for the rest of your life, who would it be?

Louboutin Shoes.

Name one designer that you would love to spend a day with learning from, and another that needs to spend a day with you to learn a few things. 

My dream would be to spend a day alongside Karl Lagerfeld, I’m a huge fan of his work.

Fashion keeps changing and trends keep emerging, one is always learning and grasping new ideas and I hope I too can be an inspiration to many as in the fashion industry one must be prepared to be criticized but be true to ones self,  be creative an unique and put one’s self out there and network with as many people as possible. I believe we all can learn from one another.

Elie Saab or Zuhair Murad? 

Elie Saab, for his glittering simplicity.

The famous quote attributed to Coco Chanel reads, ” A woman should be classy and fabulous”. What two other attributes do you think a lady should possess?

Poise and Spunk.

What is your favourite piece from the LoveFashionKMcollection?

My signature cut, ‘the jeans abaya’ as its young, fun, modest and trendy.

First thing that you do in the morning?

My morning Prayer.

How much of the design process are you involved in?

I sketch up my ideas and source fabrics in order to design garments that compliment the diverse lifestyle of today’s women. Expressing fashion in a way that is still modest and inspired by current trends. My team in Dubai handles the final tailoring process.

Which city in the world do you most admire for its fashion? 

Milan.

What is the most inspiring place that you have visited (fashion wise) so far?

My favourite place, London.

On British TV, we currently have a show that follows 10 people living on a desert island. The group has been selected for their skills and qualities that will help the group survive. I.e there is a doctor, a swimmer, a cook etc. what quality do you have that would be useful on a desert island?

My bubbly personality.

What three items of clothing would you take to a desert island?

A pair of ripped denim jeans, a basic white T-shirt and espadrilles.

If you could collaborate with any designer now to launch a new collection, who would it be?

Emirate Designer Abeer al Suwaidi.

You’re late for a red-carpet event with some of the biggest names in the fashion industry. Take us through your fifteen-minute get ready routine?

1) Once I’ve cleansed, I’d quickly apply some tinted moisturizer and some bright red lipstick and few strokes of mascara.

2) Pin up my hair into a quick top knot, it’s quick and easy yet feminine.

3) Slip on a black dress, statement heals and accessorise my look with an evening clutch.

Many celebrities often don an abaya or caftan when they visit the Arab world and we think they rock them pretty well. Name a celebrity you would most like to see in an abaya and which label (other than your own) would you choose for them?

Angelina Jolie. She would look graceful and elegant in a Abeer al Suwaidi Abaya.

If you could launch a flagship store in any city in the world, where would it be?

Definitely Dubai.

What would the theme song for the collection preview be? 

Cyndi Lauper – Girls Just Want To Have Fun.

What’s next for LoveFashionKM?

Currently working on the New Spring Summer 2015 Collection.

Final comments?

Selling my designs is really exciting. It is fulfilling to see my store and what I have achieved thus far. I hope to see my designs in Vogue, this dream keeps me motivated, determined and hard working. And I truly believe that dedication, hard work and love for fashion is what it takes. Be ambitious and share your talent with the world.

The LoveFashionKM collection is available now on www.hautearabia.com!

Leave a Reply

