60 Seconds with Luxury Lifestyle Blogger Elrico Bellinghan, The Editor of Luxo

If you want to understand what it means to be committed to one’s passion, then look no further than this week’s 60 seconds with Elrico Bellinghan.  This dedicated fashion stylist loves fashion so much that he runs not one, but two high end fashion blogs – sharing his wealth of knowledge in the world of lifestyle and luxury on one and his personal experience of his fashion adventures in Dubai in the other, where he is currently residing and already setting himself firmly as one the most dynamic people to know in one of the trendiest parts of the world.

We managed to catch Elrico to ask what else he has up his (very fashionable) sleeve..

Tell us about yourself.

I am Elrico Bellingan, professional fashion stylist, fashion journalist, fashion reporter and editor of 2 fashion and lifestyle blogs, www.luxo.co.za and www.chasingtherunway.com. I have built up my career in South Africa where I styled A-list celebs and now I am living in Dubai and expanding my platforms and knowledge to the amazing fashion in Dubai!

Describe your blogs.

LUXO is my pride and joy and I started the blog to share my knowledge on fashion and to give people a one-stop site where they can read online about all the latest trends, news and styles in fashion without ever having to buy a magazine. Luxo is all about fashion, lifestyle and luxury whether it be the latest fashion collections on the runway or the newest yacht club addition – anything that is luxurious and fashionable can be found on LUXO!

ChasingTheRunway.com is my latest “blog baby” I created to share all my amazing experiences specifically in Dubai and it is mostly focused on fashion and my love for it. We also have a beauty writer that shares all her tips and tricks on this site so if you enjoy reading LUXO, you will love Chasing The Runway as well!

Did you always want to be a fashion blogger?

No! I started my career in fashion by studying fashion design and soon realized that I love putting the clothes together in a glamorous look much more than actually sitting and making it! I got approached to be an events reporter for a fashion blog in Cape Town and this is where my blogging career started. I blogged for 1 year before I decided to start my own thing and this is where LUXO was born and I have never looked back – blogging is a part of my life now and I will always do it!

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In 5 years I hope to be a stylist for a big fashion house or to be a creative director in styling for a big magazine in the fashion industry. I seize every opportunity, but fashion is the biggest part of my life and I want to create glamour to inspire others on a daily basis! My dream is to end up in Italy so hopefully in 5 years time I have made my way to making this dream a reality!

Describe a typical day for you.

A typical day for me…well I have a morning routine of going to the gym and after that I spend most of my mornings either blogging or keeping my social media up to date. Being a blogger I am in a very privileged position to be able to work flexible hours and from home, so after updating my blogs, I usually head to the stores to see what is new, attend store/clothes/collection launches and in the evening there’s always some sort of event happening in Dubai – it is unpredictable but a lot of fun!

Who is your favorite men’s wear designer?

I love so many designers, but specifically when it comes to menswear, I really like DSquared, Dolce and Gabbana and definitely Tom Ford.

What is your favourite item in your wardrobe?

I get this question a lot and it is always the same answer – my leather jacket and ripped jeans. These are just the most versatile items that I can wear in so many different ways and it can look interesting every time. Every guy should invest in a stylish leather jacket!

What do you owe your success to?

The support of my family and just the ability to never give up! The fashion industry can be very discouraging and many doors open and close in your face. I have worked hard, started from the bottom and was willing to do anything in the fashion industry and it finally paid off. Never settle for anything less than what you want in life. It doesn’t come easy but hard work will pay off in the end – I am proof of that!

Was there a moment in your career, so far, that led you to where you are today?

I would have to say it was the day I walked into a coffee shop and someone came up to me and asked if I was a fashion designer. I replied, “No, but I love fashion” and this got me a job as a guest fashion blogger and this career opened up all the opportunities I am lucky enough to have today. It sounds so simple, but fashion definitely speaks to people and landed me my dream career!

Which favourite must-have item would you pick from our e-commerce store?

[shopify product = http://www.haute-elan.com/collections/jackets/products/cj014-02]

This blazer has elegance and can be worn to a glamorous affair, or you can wear it with trendy jeans and sneakers for someting stylish but classic. I love the detail on this jacket and it is definitely something worth investing in!

Haute Elan is the premier destination for luxury modest fashion housing the collections of over 150 designers and boutiques from across the world, uniting women through their common love of fashion and the elegant modest form. Shop the collections now at www.haute-elan.com.

Leave a Reply

