Fashion is a lifestyle rather than a trend…

60 seconds with Farah Asmar

What or who inspired you to create farah asmar?

I have developed the passion for fashion since I was a little kid, my mom used to collect my drawings. I’ve always wanted to be a fashion designer. After I got my degree in graphic and fashion design at Instituto Marangoni-London and was inspired to be a handbag designer.

My background has always been fashion related, I have worked at fashion magazines, and fashion tv shows, up until the time came for me to start my own brand.

What has been the hardest thing you have experienced starting up your business?

As a start up business, one could face so many issues in creating your own trade mark. It has also been difficult managing the business and turning it from a hobby to a profession.

What has been the most rewarding?

The most rewarding feeling is when I walk into a place and find someone carrying a Farah Asmar bag with pride.

Where would you like to see yourself and Farah Asmar in five years’ time?

I’m aiming to start showing at Paris Fashion Week in a few seasons, hoping that we can collaborate later on with a big brand.  And also of course showcase Farah Asmar collection at big high end-multi-brand platforms.

What is the key difference between your collection compared to other Designer bags?

I care a lot about the finish, starting with the thread color and the chain dipping to the lining and the mechanism of each and every bag. Also I love to create a multi-purpose piece that could be carried in different ways, and for any occasion!

[shopify product = http://www.haute-elan.com/collections/farah-asmar/products/bordeaux-becky-medium-bucket-statchel%5D%5Bshopify product = http://www.haute-elan.com/collections/farah-asmar/products/navy-becky-medium-bucket-statchel%5D%5Bshopify product = http://www.haute-elan.com/collections/farah-asmar/products/jackie-o-green-tote-bag%5D%5Bshopify product = http://www.haute-elan.com/collections/farah-asmar/products/jackie-o-black-and-white-tote-bag%5D%5Bshopify product = http://www.haute-elan.com/collections/farah-asmar/products/navy-steffany-tote-bag%5D

Haute Elan is the premier destination for luxury modest fashion housing the collections of over 150 designers and boutiques from across the world, uniting women through their common love of fashion and the elegant modest form. Shop the collections now at www.haute-elan.com.

Leave a Reply

